Posted by: Cartoon Pig Dog | June 19, 2008

Don’t buy “Potent pot” hype

Recently the government has been on a roll where it comes to posting lies about marijuana. From ridiculous claims that it causes many types of dementia to the more recent claims that its potency has risen to levels that make it extremely dangerous and even fatal. Even an outrageous report about what they termed “Pot 2.0”, a supposedly deadly form of pot that contained fatal amounts of THC (even though it has been proved many times that THC is not fatal or even harmful at any dosage). And now they are claiming that domestically grown pot has doubled in potency in recent years.
Government claims of highly potent pot must be taken with a grain of salt. As is the case with any black market commodity, definitive facts are difficult if not impossible to come by.
That said, even by the University of Mississippi’s own admission, the average THC in domestically grown marijuana — which comprises the bulk of the US market — is less than five percent, a figure that’s remained unchanged for nearly a decade.**

By contrast, the average strength of imported cannabis has grown in recent years. Nevertheless, non-domestic marijuana comprises only a small fraction of the domestic market. To imply that this rare, unusually potent cannabis is reflective of what is typically available on the US market is highly (and purposely) misleading.

Furthermore, it must be noted that THC — regardless of potency — is non-toxic and incapable of causing a fatal overdose. Currently, doctors may legally prescribe a FDA-approved pill that contains 100 percent THC, and curiously, nobody at the University of Mississippi or at the Drug Czar¹s office seems particularly concerned about it.

It should also be noted that most cannabis consumers actually prefer less potent pot, just as the majority of those who drink alcohol prefer beer or wine over hard liquor. If and when consumers encounter unusually strong varieties of marijuana, they adjust their use accordingly and smoke less.

Of course, if lawmakers and government researchers were really concerned about potential risks posed by potent marijuana, they would support regulating the drug, so that its potency would be known to the consumer.

So if today’s pot is essentially the same plant it’s always been ­ with any marginal increase in potency akin to the difference between a cup of tea and an espresso ­ why is the government claiming otherwise? Mainly to scare parents, particularly those millions of parents who may have, without incident, experimented with marijuana in the 1970s, when they were about the same age as their children are today. Fortunately for them, while the feds’ latest “reefer rhetoric” may sound alarming, there’s little substance behind the hype.

**(See: http://www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov/pdf/FullPotencyReports.pdf, page 12)

Thanks go to Paul Armentano (Deputy Director, NORML Foundation) for information contained in this post and for directing me to the various sites providing reliable information on pot potency and effects.

EDIT by EB: Not sure how that happened, but I fixed the small text issue.

Responses

  1. EB, or anyone else that may know what happened, I think I need help. When I first put this up I noticed several typos and edited it to fix them, but when I re-posted it the type was smaller, so I took it back to edit it again and fix the problem, but when I put it back up the type was even smaller again, now it’s too small for me to even read it. What the hell did I do wrong? 😦

  2. Authorities over in the States seem to love to make people paranoid bout smoking.
    There are possibilities to make weed stronger indeed like growth supplements but those just fuck up the good taste of it (I should know, I grew it regularly…..it’s a Dutch hobby).
    But just as you stated, I rather prefer mellow weed over hyperpotent pot, preferrably the one that grows in my garden right now.

  3. Ditto

  4. The European Union recently published a research paper on this topic.

    http://www.emcdda.europa.eu/attachements.cfm/att_2950_EN_insights6web.pdf

    An interesting read for anyone who has some time to spend. (70 pages) 😉

  5. marijuanacannabis, thanks for the link. The report is about ten years old but appears to be fairly accurate anyway. Sorry for the delay in posting, our software put your comment into the spam folder (not sure why) and I just retrieved it. There were a couple of things in the report that seemed rather biased both pro and con, but this is to be expected with any report on a subject that has become as controversial as marijuana.

  6. Well, not sure how you managed to shrink your text, but I put it back to normal for ya. You may also be interested in visiting http://www.420chan.org. It’s an Anonymous messaging board (much like 4chan), only more centered around drug use. You’d fit in nicely.

  7. I’m sure I did something weird to make that happen, the first shrinkage was minimal, but trying to fix it made it really small. Oh well, brains was never really one of my strong points.

  8. Uh, EB, your 420 chan link brought me back to blogs for sense on an empty post.

    Ednose: Try it again.

  9. “You’d fit in nicely.”

    Are you calling me a druggie? 😀

  10. I personally believe that this new “potent” pot is way better for the everyday smoker. Here’s why:

    Most of this potent pot is grown and groomed with care and is transported with even more care. Why is this? Because if the weed was shit by the time it hit the street it wouldn’t command such high prices. Most of the lower quality pot we see here in the States is imported from south of the border. When traffickers bring it over they have to disguise the smell (which usually involves toxic chemicals). Also: THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS DEADLY THC!!!!!!

  11. http://nl.youtube.com/watch?v=TCdijE92OGU

    My newest videoclip to one of my compositions seems to fit here perfectly

    PS, cool webpage RedHair !!!

  12. I agree Moxom, I like her site, but it’s hard to leave her a comment and let her know, it wanted me to sign in to my wordpress account (I was already signed in) so I signed in again and it still wanted me to sign in so I gave up. Oh, and great video, nothing like nerds on dope to get your morning smile in place.
    Thanks for fixing the link EB. Going to check out the 420 now.

  13. Or was that you that fixed the link, Moxom? Either way, thanks.
    Also, have you been to the dashboard lately and checked out the search terms that lead people to our site? I wonder who the hell searched “sex Arn”. That’s just too weird for me.

  14. um. wow. guess you must be pretty popular, Arn…

  15. It’s that little bitty dick, they just can’t leave it alone, lol.

  16. Didn’t see the report was from 2004. Thanks for pointing that out. I don’t understand is why people think the higher levels of THC are such a big problem. Doesn’t just mean one has to smoke less of it to get the same effect?

    As stated in the EU report Dutch levels of THC where already around 16% in 2000-2001. This compared to 5-6% in the surrounding countries. Yet the percentage of cannabis users is lower in Holland (where cannabis is readily available) then in the surrounding countries?

    http://www.maastricht.nl/maastricht/show/id=221316/framenoid=39732

    It seems to me that THC levels aren’t really an issue.

    BTW. You said my comment was placed in your spam folder? I recently starting to use wordpress and it seems all the comments I post are regarded as spam. Would anyone here happen to know why?

  17. I tried to figure that out myself, but I couldn’t see anything in your comment or the link you posted that could be regarded as spam. Your IP has been cleared for this site so you wont go to spam here again, but I still can’t figure out why it went there in the first place. As far as I know, the only thing we filter for is advertising all others are welcome.
    And you’re right about the higher THC levels, there is no way to overdose on THC so the higher levels aren’t dangerous and I believe most people (myself included) just smoke less when it’s more potent.

  18. Politicians are 10 years behind the times when it comes to hemp use. People have been fighting for a long time against marijuana and pot prohibition with some movement going on now. Still too slow for those caught up in the jail system for possessing a little weed. Our freedoms have been trampled on by folks who know nothing about how beautiful cannabis can be for someones life, if one learns how to grow cannabis. Keep up the good work.

  19. weed is fukin potent and every 1 should smoke it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

